× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl Box Sets

Release Date:


Cat no:






Sub Genre:

Folk Rock

Tim Buckley

Tim Buckley: The Troubadour Concerts 1969 (6LP)

Tim Buckley: The Troubadour Concerts 1969 (6LP)

Tim Buckley

  1. Buzzin’ Fly
  2. Strange Feelin’
  3. Blue Melody
  4. Chase The Blues Away
  5. Venice Mating Call
  6. I Had A Talk With My Woman
  1. Gypsy Woman
  2. Driftin’
  3. I Don’t Need It To Rain
  4. I Wanna Testify
  1. Anonymous Proposition
  2. Lorca
  3. I Had A Talk With My Woman
  4. Nobody Walkin’
  5. Venice Mating Call
  1. Nobody Walkin’
  2. I Don’t Need It To Rain
  3. Buzzin’ Fly
  4. Gypsy Woman
  1. Venice Mating Call
  2. Nobody Walkin’
  3. Gypsy Woman
  4. Blue Melody
  1. I Don’t Need It To Rain
  2. I Had A Talk With My Woman
  3. Strange Feelin’
  4. Driftin’
  5. Chase The Blues Away

About this release

In early September 1969, Tim Buckley played four sets over two days at LA club The Troubadour, along with a rehearsal set, all of which were recorded. These shows featured Buckley at his improvisational best, each performance of every song being different from other performances of the same song.

On these recordings, Buckley was accompanied by his guitarist Lee Underwood and congas player Carter C.C. Collins, along with John Balkin on bass and Frank Zappa/Captain Beefheart drummer Art Tripp.

These recordings have been issued across three CD releases in 1994 and 2017, but this 6 LP box set is the first time that they have been gathered together in one release. Features extensive and explanatory annotation by compiler Pat Thomas, along with photos and ephemera.

Please note that owing to running time restrictions, one version of “Driftin’” (originally on the CD release “Live at the Troubadour 1969”) has not been included in this tracklisting. There are two remaining versions of this song.

Extra information about this release