× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:






Sub Genre:

Glam Rock


T.Rex: Songwriter: 1970 (1LP)

T.Rex: Songwriter: 1970 (1LP)


  1. Prelude
  2. By The Light Of A Magical Moon
  3. Woodland Bop
  4. Lofty Skies
  5. Elemental Child
  6. A Day Laye
  7. Oh Baby
  8. Childe
  9. Jewel
  10. Summer Deep
  11. Diamond Meadows
  12. Seagull Woman
  13. Is It Love?
  14. Ride A White Swan
  15. The Time Of Love Is Now
  16. Beltane Walk
  17. Suneye
  18. Summertime Blues

About this release

Following the success of the 2LP set “1972”, Demon Records is proud to announce two new releases in the Marc Bolan “Songwriter” series. This is a vinyl-only, intimate series that focuses on the private and creative Marc Bolan, with the emphasis on how that affected his songwriting.

The first of these new releases is “1970”, which takes us to the year in which Tyrannosaurus Rex metamorphosed into T. Rex. This 18 track selection commences with six tracks by Tyrannosaurus Rex, where songs like “Woodland Bop” point the way to the duo’s future sound.

On side two, the electric T. Rex sound emerges with songs like “Beltane Walk” and the hit “Ride A White Swan”. As the sleevenote says, “By late 1970, Bolan was on his feet and sending fans home with his revival of Eddie Cochran’s teen anthem ‘Summertime Blues’. It was now time to write some teen anthems of his own”.

This release has been compiled and fully annotated by Mark Paytress, author of the definitive biography “Marc Bolan: The Rise And Fall of a 20th Century Superstar”, and the recently-published “Glam! When Superstars Rocked The World, 1970-74”.

Pressed on 140g black vinyl.