× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Exclusives

Release Date:


Cat no:







Space:Greatest Hits (1LP Translucent Green Vinyl) (HMV Vinyl Week)

Space:Greatest Hits (1LP Translucent Green Vinyl) (HMV Vinyl Week)


  1. Female Of The Species
  2. Avenging Angels
  3. Neighbourhood
  4. The Ballad Of Tom Jones (featuring Cerys Matthews)
  5. Money
  6. Money
  7. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place 
  8. Bad Days (Remix)
  9. Dark Clouds
  10. Me And You Vs The World
  11. Diary Of A Wimp
  12. Gravity
  13. The Shit You Talk Is Beautiful
  14. Spiders

About this release

Initially dubbed “queasy listening” by fans and listeners alike, Liverpool’s Space scored a run of classic late-Britpop singles towards the end of the 1990s, as well as the phenomenally successful “concept” album ‘Spiders’ – a Top 5 album in the UK in 1996. Their inventive sound blended orchestral stabs, trip-hop-inspired beats and classic new wave-y chords while the band’s lyrics took a witty, jaundiced look at relationships and the strangeness of modern life.

Now on vinyl for the first time, ‘Avenging Angels – The Best Of Space’, brings together all of the band’s hits –  such as the title track, ‘You And Me Versus The World’, ‘Neighbourhood’, the Cerys Matthews duet ‘The Ballad Of Tom Jones’ and the immortal ‘Female Of The Species’ – with the best of the deeper cuts including a version of The Animals’ ‘We Gotta Get Out Of This Place’ as you’ve never heard it before.

An HMV Vinyl Week exclusive, ‘Avenging Angels’ is pressed on 140-gram Translucent Green vinyl.