× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Sean Rowley Presents: Guilty Pleasures 20th Anniversary (2LP)

Sean Rowley Presents: Guilty Pleasures 20th Anniversary (2LP)

Various Artists

  1. Alessi Brothers - Oh Lori
  2. Captain and Tennille - Love Will Keep Us Together
  3. Pilot - January
  4. Electric Light Orchestra - Sweet Talkin’ Woman
  5. Climax Blues Band - Couldn’t Get It Right
  6. Ace - How Long
  7. Billy Swan - I Can Help
  8. When The Show's Over
  9. The Fortunes - Storm In A Teacup
  10. David Essex - Gonna Make You a Star
  11. Sherbet - Howzat
  12. Andrew Gold - Never Let Her Slip Away
  13. 10cc - The Things We Do For Love
  14. Marshall Hain - Dancing In The City
  15. Carole Bayer Sager - Moving Out Today
  1. Peter Skellern - Hold On To Love
  2. Gallagher & Lyle - I Wanna Stay With You
  3. Andy Kim - Rock Me Gently
  4. Jim Gilstrap - Swing Your Daddy
  5. Brian Protheroe - Pinball
  6. Helen Reddy - Angie Baby
  7. Andrew Fairweather-Low - Wide Eyed & Legless
  8. Colin Blunstone - Say You Don’t Mind
  9. Charlie Dore - Pilot Of The Airwaves
  10. Starland Vocal Band - Afternoon Delight
  11. Liverpool Express - You Are My Love
  12. Lynsey De Paul - Sugar Me
  13. Clout - Let It Grow
  14. Rupert Holmes - Him
  15. Eric Carmen - She Did It

About this release

  • A new 29-track collection on 2LP 140g set – ‘Guilty Pleasures’ first time on vinyl
  • Extensive track-by-track sleeve notes from Sean Rowley
  • Embrace the guilt and be set free

To mark the twentieth anniversary of its original release, Demon Music are proud to present ‘Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures’, available as a 29 track 2LP highlights collection (‘The Blue Album’). This will be the first time that this hugely popular compilation has been available on vinyl, “the format that these songs were intended to be heard on”, according to Sean.

At the start of the new millennium Sean Rowley was a DJ on BBC Radio London (then called GLR), when he introduced a new slot featuring the records he loved in his youth. Records he had to hide when friends visited his home after school. While those same friends were into Bowie, Slade, Bolan and Roxy, Sean spent his hard-earned pocket money on David Cassidy’s ‘Could It Be Forever’. He wasn’t into the alternative universe of John Peel or the NME. He thrived on upbeat and sunny Pop songs. ELO trumped The Sex Pistols in his world (uncanny given Paul Cooke from the Pistols later blagged a copy of the original ‘Guilty Pleasures’ compilation, saying, “We always secretly loved these songs”).

This new slot began with the playing of Alessi’s ‘Oh, Lori’. The response was extraordinary – listeners were so keen to share their own guilty pleasures that playing them all required a show of its own. Demand dictated that Sean should compile a ‘Guilty Pleasures’ album – the first of two titles followed in 2004 (all 22 of the tracks on that original release are included on both of our new formats).

The phrase ‘guilty pleasures’ moved into the public domain. National newspapers devoted columns to it, music magazines gave over numerous pages to discuss the best songs in this new sub-genre. The Guardian declared a ‘Guilty Pleasures’ night “the future of clubbing”. ITV came calling with a demand to make a one-off Saturday TV show.

Fast forward twenty years and Sean has partnered with Demon to make ‘Guilty Pleasures’ available on vinyl for the very first time, and expanded the guilt over four themed CDs adding deep cuts, one-hit wonders and exotic recordings that perfectly soundtracked a sun-kissed ’70s U.S. west coast life style, less so in ’70s Britain.

Welcome to a ’70s Pop odyssey. Welcome to a collection of records that were swept under the carpet of cool. Welcome back, Guilty Pleasures.