× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD Box Sets

Release Date:


Cat no:








Various Artists

SAM Records Anthology: The Sound of New York City 1975 – 1983 (3CD)

SAM Records Anthology: The Sound of New York City 1975 – 1983 (3CD)

Various Artists

  1. Doris Duke - Woman Of The Ghetto Original UK 12” Mix
  2. Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin’
  3. Komiko - Feel Alright
  4. Glen Adams Affair - Just A Groove
  5. Rhyze - Do Your Dance A Jim Burgess Mix
  6. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra – Bourgie’, Bourgie’ Special Disco Version
  7. Mike & Brenda Sutton - Any Way You Want My Love
  8. Sound Troupe - Can You Really See Me
  9. Wardell Piper - Come On Back To Mama
  10. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - I Can't Stop
  11. Steve Shelto - Don't Give Your Love Away A Shep Pettibone Mix
  12. Scandal - Love Either Grows Or Goes
  1. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Love Magic Special Disco Version
  2. Rhyze - I Found Love In You
  3. Kreamcicle - Hold On John ‘Jellybean’ Benitez Mix
  4. Lucy Hawkins - Gotta Get Outta here
  5. Scandal - Just Let Me Dance A Jim Burgess Mix
  6. K.I.D - Don't Stop
  7. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Night & Day Disco Version
  8. Rhyze - Just How Sweet Is Your Love
  9. Evasions - The Wikka Wrap A Jonathan Fearing Edit
  10. Monica Neal - Begging For More
  11. Underground - Behind My Back
  12. Mike and Brenda Sutton - We'll Make It
  1. Greg Henderson - Dreamin'
  2. K.I.D - Hupendi Muziki Wangu?! (You Don't Like My Music) A Jonathan Fearing Mix
  3. Convertion - Let's Do It
  4. David Mc Pherson - You Can't Stop A Shep Pettibone Mix
  5. Klassique - Somebody's Loving You A Ray Reid Mix
  6. B.B.C.S.&A. - Rock Shock
  7. Gary's Gang - Let's Love Dance Tonight Special Disco Version
  8. Vicky “D” - This Beat Is Mine
  9. Rhyze – Free Special Disco Version
  10. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Kojak Theme
  11. Mike and Brenda Sutton - Don't Let Go Of Me A Shep Pettibone Mix
  12. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Up Jumped The Devil

About this release

This is the story of the one the great disco labels, a legendary label who were at the forefront of a genre during it fruition and creative peak.

Sam Weiss started SAM Records in Long Island City, New York in 1975. Sam, and his brother Hy, were born in Romania before moving to the Bronx in New York City when they were young. Sam and his brother were no strangers to the music business having been in the industry since the mid-50s running labels Old Town and Parody Records.

During the mid-1970s Disco took New York by storm and emerged into a revolutionary musical force that re-shaped the face of the City. It was however a genre major labels largely ignored initially. It was the smaller, independent labels that led the way in disco’s early years. Founded in 1974, Salsoul was the first. Sam’s label SAM Records arrived a year later, followed by West End and Prelude in 1976: four labels from which umpteen disco classics emerged.

This compilation compiles all of the classic material that SAM release during the years 1975 and 1983. Kicking off with Doris Dukes’ Woman of The Ghetto, this compilation offers a treasure trove of disco/boogie music with tracks from Gary’s Gang, John Davis & The Monster Orchestra, Komiko, Rhyze, Convertion, Vicky “D”, Greg Henderson alongside deeper cuts by Lucy Hawkins, Mike and Brenda Sutton, B.B.C.S & A, K.I.D, Kreamcicle, Sound Troupe, David Mc Pherson and many more.

The audio used here has been sourced from the SAM archives and in many cases the mixes are appearing in their truest 12-inch form. The set is complete with extensive liner notes by The Guardian’s chief music critic and disco authority Alexis Petridis.

SAM Records has forever left its footprint on the Disco and music history, and this compilation is an essential addition to anyone’s collection.