× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:








Various Artists

SAM Records Anthology: The Sound of New York City 1975 – 1983 (2LP)

SAM Records Anthology: The Sound of New York City 1975 – 1983 (2LP)

Various Artists

  1. Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin’
  2. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - I Can't Stop - [Album Version]
  3. Rhyze - I Found Love In You
  4. B.B.C.S. & A. - Rock Shock
  5. Greg Henderson - Dreamin'
  6. Vicky 'D' - This Beat Is Mine
  7. Convertion - Let's Do It
  8. Komiko - Feel Alright
  1. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Love Magic
  2. Gary's Gang - Let Lovedance Tonight
  3. Lucy Hawkins - Gotta Get Out Of Here
  4. Mike & Brenda Sutton - Anyway You Want my Love
  5. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Up Jumped The Devil
  6. K.I.D. - Hupendi Muzik Wangu?! (You Don’t Like My Music)
  7. Steve Shelto - Don't You Give Your Love Away
  8. Glen Adams Affair - Just A Groove - Single Edit

About this release

This is the story of the one the great disco labels, a legendary label who were at the forefront of a genre during it fruition and creative peak.

Sam Weiss started SAM Records in Long Island City, New York in 1976. Sam, and his brother Hy, were born in Romania before moving to the Bronx in New York City when they were young. Sam and his brother were no strangers to the music business having been in the industry since the mid-50s running labels Old Town and Parody Records.

During the mid-1970s Disco took New York by storm and emerged into a revolutionary musical force that re-shaped the face of the City. It was however a genre major labels largely ignored initially. It was the smaller, independent labels that led the way in disco’s early years. Founded in 1974, Salsoul was the first. Sam’s new label SAM Records arrived a year later, followed by West End and Prelude in 1976: four labels from which umpteen disco classics emerged.

This compilation compiles all of the classic material that SAM release during the years 1975 and 1983. Offering up a treasure trove of disco essential this compilation features tracks from Gary’s Gang, John Davis & The Monster Orchestra, Komiko, Rhyze, Convertion, Vicky “D”, Greg Henderson alongside deeper cuts by Lucy Hawkins, K.I.D and more.

The audio used here has been sourced from the SAM archives and in many cases the mixes are appearing in their truest 12-inch form. The set is complete with extensive liner notes by The Guardian’s chief music critic and disco authority Alexis Petridis.

SAM Records has forever left its footprint on the Disco and music history, and this compilation is an essential addition to anyone’s collection.