× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD Box Sets

Release Date:


Cat no:







Robert Palmer

Robert Palmer: The Island Records Years (9CD)

Robert Palmer: The Island Records Years (9CD)

Robert Palmer

  1. Sailin' Shoes
  2. Hey Julia
  3. Sneakin' Sally Through The Alley
  4. Get Outside
  5. Blackmail
  6. How Much Fun
  7. From A Whisper To A Scream
  8. Through It All There's You
  9. Sneakin’ Sally Through The Alley [single mix]
  10. Epidemic
  11. Blackmail [alternate take]
  12. Get Outside [alternate take]
  1. Give Me An Inch
  2. Work To Make It Work
  3. Back In My Arms
  4. River Boat
  5. Pressure Drop
  6. Here With You Tonight
  7. Trouble
  8. Fine Time
  9. Which Of Us Is The Fool
  10. Willin’ [demo]
  11. Hope We Never Wake [demo]
  1. One Last Look
  2. Keep In Touch
  3. Man Smart, Woman Smarter
  4. Spanish Moon
  5. Have Mercy
  6. Gotta Get A Grip On You (Part II)
  7. What Can You Bring Me
  8. Hard Head
  9. Off The Bone
  10. Some People Can Do What They Like
  1. Every Kinda People
  2. Best Of Both Worlds
  3. Come Over
  4. Where Can It Go?
  5. Night People
  6. Love Can Run Faster
  7. You Overwhelm Me
  8. You Really Got Me
  9. You're Gonna Get What's Coming
  1. Bad Case Of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor)
  2. Too Good To Be True
  3. Can We Still Be Friends?
  4. In Walks Love Again
  5. Mean Old World
  6. Love Stop
  7. Jealous
  8. Under Suspicion
  9. Woman You're Wonderful
  10. What's It Take?
  11. Remember To Remember
  12. Bad Case Of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor) [12” Mix
  1. Looking For Clues
  2. Sulky Girl
  3. Johnny And Mary
  4. What Do You Care
  5. I Dream Of Wires
  6. Woke Up Laughing
  7. Not A Second Time
  8. Found You Now
  9. Good Care Of You
  10. Johnny And Mary [alternate take]
  11. What Do You Care [alternate mix]
  1. Sneakin' Sally Through The Alley [live]
  2. What's It Take? [live]
  3. Best Of Both Worlds [live]
  4. Every Kinda People [live]
  5. Bad Case Of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor) [live]
  6. Some Guys Have All The Luck
  7. Style Kills
  8. Si Chatouillieux
  9. Maybe It's You
  10. What Do You Care [live]
  1. Pride
  2. Deadline
  3. Want You More
  4. Dance For Me
  5. You Are In My System
  6. It's Not Difficult
  7. Say You Will
  8. You Can Have It (Take My Heart)
  9. What You Waiting For
  10. The Silver Gun
  11. You Are In My System [12” remix]
  12. Ain’t It Funky [Si Chatouillieux – extended version
  13. Pride [12” mix]
  14. Parade Of The Obliterators
  15. You Can Have It [12” mix]
  16. You Are In My System [instrumental mix]
  17. Deadline [12” mix]
  1. Riptide
  2. Hyperactive
  3. Addicted To Love
  4. Trick Bag
  5. Get It Through Your Heart
  6. I Didn't Mean To Turn You On
  7. Flesh Wound
  8. Discipline Of Love
  9. Riptide (Reprise)
  10. Discipline Of Love [12” mix]
  11. Riptide Medley
  12. Sweet Lies [12” mix]
  13. Let’s Fall In Love
  14. I Didn’t Mean To Turn You On [12” mix]
  15. No Not Much [live on The Tube]
  16. Trick Bag [live on The Tube]
  17. Les Planches

About this release

Robert Palmer was one of the greatest singer-songwriters of the late 20th Century. An artist and writer who sampled world-wide success, he never stopped being a music fan first and foremost, often racing to record something he’d just heard a snatch of on the radio or had caught in a club. His astute mixture of originals and well-selected covers gave him a song palette at times so eclectic that he became impossible to pigeonhole. In many respects, Palmer was the invisible man of pop. His close friends Talking Heads once recorded a track called Seen And Not Seen, the title of which sums up Palmer perfectly.

After spells with The Alan Bown! and Dada, and three albums with Vinegar Joe, Island Records signed Robert Palmer to a solo deal in 1973. This 109 track, 9 CD book set contains all nine albums that he recorded for Island Records, between 1974 and 1985, alongside b-sides, demos and alternate takes.

Aside from the worldwide hit “Addicted To Love”, the set also contains “Johnny And Mary”, “Bad Case Of Lovin’ You (Doctor Doctor)”, “Looking For Clues”, “Some Guys Have All The Luck” and many more hits, as well as collaborations with Gary Numan. The musicians include The Meters, Little Feat, and the Brecker Brothers and the producers include Tom Moulton and Chic’s Bernard Edwards.

The 28 page 12×12 booklet contains the album lyrics and credits, along with extensive annotation by Daryl Easlea. The set has been newly mastered by Phil Kinrade at AIR Mastering using digital sources provided by the Universal archive.