× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:





R&B and Soul

Average White Band

Average White Band: On The Strip – The Sunset Sessions (2LP Clear Vinyl)

Average White Band: On The Strip – The Sunset Sessions (2LP Clear Vinyl)

Average White Band

  1. Let’s Go ‘Round Again
  2. Whatcha' Gonna Do For Me
  3. For You, For Love
  4. If Love Only Lasts For One Night
  5. Miss Sun
  6. Shine
  1. Kiss Me
  2. Catch Me (Before I Have To Testify)
  3. Into The Night
  4. Wasn't I Your Friend
  5. Love Gives, Love Takes Away
  6. Growing Pains
  7. Love Won’t Get In The Way

About this release

Widely and rightly regarded as one of the best ever soul and funk bands, the now legendary Average White Band tore-up the rule book and conquered the US, UK & International charts with a series of soul and disco hits between 1974 and 1980. AWB’s repertoire has been a source of inspiration and influence for many R&B acts and they are one of the most sampled bands in history, remaining relevant today, continuing to reach new generations of younger audiences. Snoop Dogg, Fatboy Slim, Ice Cube, Puff Daddy, TLC, Rick Ross, will.i.am and Mark Ronson amongst countless others, have all borrowed sections of their grooves.
After the success of 1979’s ‘Feel No Fret’, the band went into the studio record their next album. The back-story behind the album’s release, has been annotated by Alan Gorrie and Hamish Stuart in the LP notes.

To celebrate the 40TH ANNIVERSARY of ‘Shine’, AWB (past and present) have reconfigured the album as they had originally intended, bringing in the four tracks that they had to ‘leave’ behind when they changed record labels. In addition, due to separate behind the scenes situations, two further tracks were unable to be included on the album and remained unreleased until this century.
‘ON THE STRIP – THE SUNSET SESSIONS’ is what ‘Shine’ could have been; a longer 2LP set, heralding in the new decade.

The album includes the singles ‘LET’S GO ‘ROUND AGAIN’ and ‘FOR YOU, FOR LOVE’, as well as ‘WHATCHA’ GONNA DO FOR ME’, which later become synonymous with Chaka Khan, who recorded it the following year, having sung on an early-take for AWB, when they were recording the album. ‘MISS SUN’ makes it long-awaited inclusion on the album for which it had been recorded until fate dealt another hand, with permission being withheld then appearing as the lead track on Boz Scaggs’ ‘Hits’ LP.
‘Shine’ was a success, reaching #14 in the UK Albums Chart in 1980 and included the worldwide Chart and Club hit ‘Let’s Go ‘Round Again’ but it wasn’t the album that it should have been.

40 years on, Average White Band still ‘shine’ brightly and remain highly influential for today’s groove-merchants and EDM DJs but more importantly now release their album as they wanted.