× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl Audiobooks, Vinyl

Release Date:


Cat no:






Not The Nine O'clock News

Not The Nine O’Clock News (1LP 180g ‘Gob On You’ Green Vinyl)

Not The Nine O’Clock News (1LP 180g ‘Gob On You’ Green Vinyl)

Not The Nine O'clock News

  1. Death of A Princess (An Apology)
  2. The Gorilla Interview
  3. Confrontation Song
  4. Airline Safety
  5. National Wealth Beds
  6. Simultaneous Translation
  7. The General Synod’s “Life of Python”
  8. The Ayatollah Song
  9. Closedown
  10. Points Of View
  11. Rowan’s Rant
  12. Stout Life
  13. Gob On You
  14. Gay Christian
  15. Final Demands
  16. I Like Bouncing
  17. Oh! Bosanquet!
  18. I Believe

About this release

“Not The Nine O’Clock News gave the world alternative comedy and made the media scene we have today.” – Mark Lewisohn, Radio Times Guide to TV Comedy.

Celebrating over 40 years since the ground-breaking comedy series arrived on BBC TV, Demon Records proudly presents all three original LPs – Not The Nine O’Clock News, Hedgehog Sandwich and the double LP The Memory Kinda Lingers – lovingly mastered on heavyweight themed coloured vinyl. Let the famous signature tune take you back to the heady days of 1979, when Labour gave way to the Conservatives, striking workers created the Winter of Discontent, and Not The Nine O’Clock News inherited the BBC2 time slot vacated by Fawlty Towers.

It quickly became a trailblazing smash hit, running for four series and making stars of Rowan Atkinson, Mel Smith, Pamela Stephenson and Griff Rhys-Jones. Among the many famous, and much-loved, sketches included on the LPs are David Bloody Attenborough (aka Gerald the Gorilla), Points of View, General Synod’s “Life of Python”, Constable Savage, University Challenge, Hi-Fi Shop, That’s Lies, Not The Parrot Sketch, Open Marriage, Question Time, Game For A Laugh, Two Ninnies, McEnroe’s Breakfast, What A Load of Willies, The Pope’s Visit, Simon and Garfunkel and – yes – The Return of Constable Savage.

Produced and devised by John Lloyd and Sean Hardie, Not The Nine O’Clock News won a Silver Rose at the Montreux Festival and a BAFTA for Best Light Entertainment Programme. Its large writing team included such future luminaries of TV comedy as Richard Curtis, David Renwick, Andrew Marshall, Guy Jenkin, Laurie Rowley, John Lloyd and Andy Hamilton.

Presented as a faithfully reproduced facsimile gatefolds, and remastered from the original tapes.