× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD Box Sets

Release Date:


Cat no:






Labi Siffre

Labi Siffre: My Song (9CD)

Labi Siffre: My Song (9CD)

Labi Siffre

  1. Too Late
  2. Words
  3. Something On My Mind
  4. Maybe Tomorrow
  5. You And I Should Be Together
  6. I Don’t Know What’s Happened To The Kids Today
  7. I Love You
  8. Make My Day
  9. A Little More Line
  10. Maybe
  11. River
  12. Love Song For Someone
  13. I Just Couldn’t Live Without Her
  14. Maybe When We Dance
  15. Ask Me To Stay
  16. Here We Are
  1. There’s Nothing In The World Like Love
  2. You’re Lovely
  3. A Number Of Words
  4. Who Do You See?
  5. Not So Long Ago
  6. The Shadow Of Our Love
  7. When I’m On My Own You Are On My Mind
  8. Rocking Chair
  9. Interlude
  10. Thank Your Lucky Star
  11. Talkabout
  12. Relax
  13. Bless The Telephone
  14. Summer Is Coming
  15. Goodbye
  1. Saved
  2. Cannock Chase
  3. Fool Me A Goodnight
  4. It Must Be Love
  5. Gimme Some More
  6. Blue Lady
  7. Love Oh Love Oh Love
  8. Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying
  9. Hotel Room Song
  10. My Song
  11. Till Forever
  12. Come On Michael
  13. To Find Love
  14. Watch Me
  15. Why Did You Go, Why Did You Leave Me?
  16. You Make It Easy
  17. Good Old Days
  18. Pristine Verses
  19. You’ll Let Me Know
  20. For The Lovin’
  1. Somesay
  2. Children Of Children
  3. Entertainment Value
  4. Odds And Ends
  5. Prayer
  6. Let’s Pretend
  7. Someday
  8. If You Have Faith
  9. For The Children
  10. Give Love
  11. So What
  12. Oh Me Oh My Mr City Goodbye
  13. Last Night Tonight
  1. I Got The
  2. Another Year
  3. Down
  4. Old Time Song
  5. The Vulture
  6. Dreamer
  7. Sadie And The Devil
  8. Turn On Your Love
  9. Remember My Song
  10. Run To Him
  11. The Love Thing
  12. Nightmare
  1. Love-A-Love-A-Love-A-Love-A-Love
  2. You Hurt Me
  3. Doctor Doctor
  4. Second Time Around
  5. Would You Dance?
  6. Supaluvva
  7. Staride To Nowhere
  8. You’ve Done Something To My Heart
  9. Sally Came To Stay
  10. La-De-Da-De-Da (Lost Without Your Love)
  11. You’ve Got A Hold On Me
  12. Do The Best You Can
  13. Hot And Dirty In The City
  14. Solid Love
  15. One WorldSong [by Labi & Jackie]
  16. We Got Love [by Labi & Jackie]
  1. Listen To The Voices
  2. Nothin’s Gonna Change
  3. I Will Always Love You
  4. All I Wanna Do
  5. And The Wind Blows
  6. (Something Inside) So Strong
  7. Lovers
  8. Hard Road
  9. I’m Alright
  10. When You’re Lonely
  11. The Secret
  12. Never Let You Down
  13. Tragical History Tour
  14. (Something Inside) So Strong [live at The Prince's Trust Concert]
  15. Listen To The Voices [piano version]
  16. Nothin’s Gonna Change [long version]
  17. (Something Inside) So Strong [complete version US promo]
  1. City Of Dreams
  2. Most People Sleep Alone
  3. A Matter Of Love…
  4. Lovers In Arms
  5. All Fall Down
  6. Reason
  7. When Lights Are On
  8. Sensible Betrayal In The City
  9. Wash Away Your Troubles In Love
  10. Schooldays
  11. City Of Dreams [new version]
  12. Reason [live version]
  13. City Of Dreams [new version – extended 12” version]
  1. Samaritans
  2. The Dead Don't Matter
  3. Everything
  4. Little Boy Baby Blue
  5. Lose Myself In You
  6. Why Isn't Love Enough?
  7. Sparrow In The Storm
  8. Face To Face (A Paper Regret)
  9. The Life I Got
  10. Rainbow Moon
  11. This Is It
  12. Clinging To The Ledge
  13. A Kiss In The Mirror
  14. The Song To Sing
  15. Everything [the OlaZayZoss™ remix]
  16. (Love Is Love Is Love) Why Isn't Love Enough?

About this release

This 9 CD set contains all of Siffre’s albumsLABI SIFFRE (1970), THE SINGER AND THE SONG (1971), CRYING LAUGHING LOVING LYING (1972), FOR THE CHILDREN (1973), REMEMBER MY SONG (1975), HAPPY (1975), SO STRONG (1988), MAN OF REASON (1991), and THE LAST SONGS (1998) – all in CD wallet facsimiles of the original album sleeves. Amongst 146 tracks are 44 bonus tracks, many making their debut on CD, and the “Happy” album is reissued here for the first time ever.

Celebrated singer-songwriter Labi Siffre released his self-titled debut album in 1970, issuing a further five albums during the 70s, scoring hit singles with “It Must Be Love”, “Crying Laughing Loving Lying” and “Watch Me”. Madness took their cover version of “It Must Be Love” to # 4 in 1981, and it’s been a staple ingredient of celebrations ever since. “Crying Laughing Loving Lying” was covered by both Olivia Newton-John and Rod Stewart.

After a break in the early 80s, Labi returned in 1987 with the anti-apartheid anthem “(Something Inside) So Strong” (UK # 4), a song perennially appreciated around the world, and a favourite of Nelson Mandela. The song was covered by a gospel choir as a tribute to Rosa Parks. The “So Strong” album was followed by “Man Of Reason” and Labi’s last album “The Last Songs”. He remastered this album for this package, and also included two new versions.


Labi’s music has been sampled many times. Most notably, “I Got The…” was sampled by Eminem 1998 for his worldwide hit “My Name Is”, as well as by Jay-Z the year before. “My Song” was sampled by Kanye West for “I Wonder” in 2007, and “The Vulture” by Jazz Liberatorz featuring Aloe Blacc in 2003. More recently Labi’s original recordings have been featured in ads, including “Bless The Telephone” (Tesco Mobile), “My Song” (Puma, Superbowl LIV, and the University of Arizona) and “It Must Be Love” (Co-Op recycling ad).

The 32-page booklet contains a new 7000-word note based on interviews with Labi in 2020, as well as photos from his own collection, plus all the credits for the albums.

Labi was recently the subject of a major BBC TV documentary, part of Alan Yentob’s celebrated “Imagine…” series. Filmed in Spain at Labi’s house, the documentary attracted a lot of acclaim from all quarters, and also featured this box set, which Yentob described as “fantastic”.