× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:






Sub Genre:


The Creation

Making Time: The Best Of The Creation (2LP Splatter Vinyl)

Making Time: The Best Of The Creation (2LP Splatter Vinyl)

The Creation

  1. Making Time
  2. Try And Stop Me
  3. Painter Man
  4. Biff Bang Pow
  5. Sylvette
  6. If I Stay Too Long
  7. Nightmares
  8. Cool Jerk
  9. Like A Rolling Stone
  10. Can I Join Your Band
  11. Hey Joe
  12. Life Is Just Beginning
  13. Through My Eyes
  14. How Does It Feel To Feel [UK version]
  15. Tom Tom
  1. How Does It Feel To Feel [US version]
  2. I Am The Walker
  3. Ostrich Man
  4. Sweet Helen
  5. Midway Down
  6. The Girls Are Naked
  7. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
  8. Uncle Bert
  9. Lay The Ghost
  10. Psychedelic Rose
  11. Radio Beautiful
  12. Creation
  13. Power Surge
  14. That’s How I Found Love

About this release

For a band that never achieved much chart success in their native Britain, The Creation is one of the most paradoxically enduring of British combos to emerge in the furiously creative mid-sixties. Their recordings from their 1966-68 heyday are not numerous, but they have become the archetype ‘cult’ band, their music being discovered, loved and admired by successive generations of fans over the last half-century or so.

The key to The Creation’s longevity lies in their retrospective status as the prime exponents of a musical sub-genre latterly dubbed ‘Freakbeat’ – and for gifting their name for one of the most successful British independent record labels of the eighties and nineties. The Sex Pistols covered “Through My Eyes” in some live shows, and songs like “Making Time” and “Biff Bang Pow” regularly appear on TV drama soundtracks.

This 2LP set includes the band’s 60s recordings, plus (for the first time on a “Best Of” compilation) highlights from their studio reunions in 1987 and 1996, along with full annotation by Alan Robinson. With photos from his own archive, the design and artwork are by sleeve design-legend Phil Smee. Pressed on 140 gram splatter vinyl.