× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:






R&B and Soul

Step By Step

Step By Step: I Always Wanted To Be In The Band (1LP Eco-Mix Vinyl)

Step By Step: I Always Wanted To Be In The Band (1LP Eco-Mix Vinyl)

Step By Step

  1. Cash Money
  2. So Very Near You
  3. I'm Glad
  4. Don't Leave Me
  5. We Won This Time
  6. Cool Days Are Out Of Style
  7. I Always Wanted To Be In The Band
  8. People
  9. I Am A Lonely Man
  10. I Ain't Never Gonna Let You Go

About this release

The vast Brunswick catalogue offers up yet another rare gem of a record in the form of ‘I Always Wanted To Be In The Band’ by Step By Step; a dynamic 12 piece ensemble who could quite possibly be the greatest ever soul group to ever come out of Milwaukee.

Originally released in 1976, this album was a lone release in the bands short career. A group which surely had potential to become one of the greats with their unique sound of driving horns, funky basslines and sweet harmonies which will leave you wondering why this was their only addition to the legendary Brunswick catalogue.

Highlights include the title track ‘I Always Wanted to Be in The Band’, ‘So Very Near You’ and the midtempo Cash Money. Tracks played across the soul scene by the likes of Floating Points & Jamie XX.

Remastered with care & now pressed on on 140g Eco-Mix coloured vinyl with the original artwork reproduced and printed inner sleeve. Eco–Mix vinyl production uses leftover wax that’s already in the factory, meaning each record is different and the colour is completely random. It’s more environmentally friendly as it’s using up material that would have otherwise been thrown away.