× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:





R&B and Soul

Various Artists

Holland-Dozier-Holland: Detroit 1969-1977 (4LP)

Holland-Dozier-Holland: Detroit 1969-1977 (4LP)

Various Artists

  1. Freda Payne - Band Of Gold (single mix)
  2. Chairmen Of The Board - Give Me Just A Little More Time
  3. Flaming Ember - Westbound #9
  4. Silent Majority - Frightened Girl
  5. Chairmen Of The Board - You've Got Me Dangling On A String
  6. Honey Cone - Girl It Ain't Easy
  7. Chairmen Of The Board - Pay To The Piper
  8. Chairmen Of The Board - Everything's Tuesday
  9. Freda Payne - Unhooked Generation
  10. Glass House - Crumbs Off The Table
  11. Chairmen Of The Board - All We Need Is Understanding
  12. Freda Payne - Deeper and Deeper
  13. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping
  14. Honey Cone - Want Ads
  1. Freda Payne - Bring The Boys Home
  2. Barrino Brothers - I Shall Not Be Moved
  3. 8th Day - You've Got to Crawl (Before You Walk)
  4. Lucifer - Don't You (Think the Times A-Comin')
  5. Honey Cone - Sunday Morning People
  6. Glass House – I Surrendered
  7. Freda Payne - You Brought The Joy
  8. General Johnson - I'm In Love Darling
  9. Chairmen Of The Board - Working On a Building of Love
  10. Honey Cone - Stick Up
  11. 8th Day - She's Not Just Another Woman (single mix)
  12. Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away
  13. Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away
  1. Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - Why Can't We Be Lovers
  2. Chairmen Of The Board - Elmo James
  3. Silent Majority - Something New About You
  4. Barrino Brothers - Try It, You'll Like It
  5. Danny Woods - Let Me Ride
  6. Glass House - Thanks I Needed That
  7. Laura Lee - Crumbs Off The Table
  8. Warlock - You've Been My Rock
  9. Laura Lee - Woman's Love Rights
  10. Holland-Dozier Ft Brain Holland - Don't Leave Me Starvin’ for Your Love
  11. The Politicians - Free Your Mind
  12. Harrison Kennedy - Sunday Morning People
  13. Satisfaction Unlimited - Let's Change The Subject
  14. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Nothing Sweeter Than Her Love
  1. Eloise Laws - Love Factory
  2. Freda Payne - We've Got To Find A Way Back To Love
  3. Brian Holland - I'm So Glad Pt.1
  4. Honey Cone - If I Can’t Fly
  5. Tyrone Edwards - Can't Get Enough Of You
  6. Chairmen Of The Board - Skin I'm In
  7. New York Port Authority - I Got It Pt. 1
  8. Chairmen Of The Board - Finders Keepers
  9. Hi-Lites - That’s Love
  10. Freda Payne - Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right
  11. Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - New Breed Kinda Woman
  12. Eloise Laws - Put A Little Love Into It
  13. Melvin Davis - You Made Me Over
  14. Honey Cone Featuring Sharon Cash – Somebody Is Always Messing Up A Good Thing

About this release

  • The definitive collection of the legendary song-writing trio Holland-Dozier-Holland
  • 68 tracks taken from the period between 1969-1977 when the trio had started labels Hot Wax, Invictus And Music Merchant
  • Extensive liner notes by Stuart Cosgrove known for his award-winning Soul Trilogy Detroit 67: the Year That Changed Soul, Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul and Harlem 69: the Future of Soul.

Holland, Dozier and Holland are arguably the greatest songwriters ever.  More prolific than Lennon and McCartney, they shaped “the Sound of Young America” and propelled the Motown sound in the mid-1960s into a creative stratosphere unmatched by any other independent music label. Their trademark was catchy teenage love songs delivered energetically by previously unknown Detroit groups like The Supremes, the Four Tops, Martha & the Vandellas & Marvin Gaye.

Although synonymous with Berry Gordy’s Motown, it was their departure from Motown after a stand-off strike in 1967 and a brutal legal battle that led them to run their own group of labels, Invictus, Hot Wax and Music Merchant.

This compilation is a definitive look at this period in history, exploring how H-D-H, under a new guise ‘The `Creative Corporation’, drove the next generation of soul music in a myriad of different ways, towards funk, underground disco and jazz. One of their major ambitions when the doors to Invictus first opened was to find the same conveyer belt creativity that had underpinned Motown and find acts that could replicate the national success of the Four Tops, the Supremes and Marvin Gaye. The fact that they partially succeeded is no minor achievement.

Depicted by award winning author Stuart Cosgrove who wrote the award-winning Soul Trilogy, a series of books on soul music and social change – Detroit 67: the Year That Changed Soul, Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul which won the Penderyn Prize, as Music Book of the Year in 2018, and Harlem 69: the Future of Soul.

Featuring 68 tracks, the collection explores the creativity, expression and progression that the trio were going through at this point including tracks by Chairman Of The Board, Freda Payne, Honey Cone, Glass House, Flaming Ember, 8th Day, Laura Lee & Eloise Laws.