× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:





R&B and Soul

Freda Payne

Freda Payne: Band Of Gold (1LP Gold Vinyl)

Freda Payne: Band Of Gold (1LP Gold Vinyl)

Freda Payne

  1. Band Of Gold
  2. I Left Some Dreams Back There
  3. Deeper & Deeper
  4. Rock Me In The Cradle
  5. Unhooked Generation
  6. Love On Borrowed Time
  7. Through The Memory Of My Mind
  8. This Girl Is A Woman Now
  9. The World Don't Owe You A Thing
  10. Now Is The Time To Say Goodbye
  11. Happy Heart
  12. The Easiest Way To Fall

About this release

Reissue of seminal HDH release from Detroit born vocalist Freda Payne Released in 1970 on the Motown break off label Holland Dozier Holland a partnership between former Motown songwriters Eddie and Brian Holland and Lamont Dozier Band of Gold was a huge commercial success for the label

Features the classic singles Unhooked Generation and Band of Gold a single that sold over 2 million copies and became a gold record

Textbook female vocal soul with a post Motown sound signature, the most commercially successful and widely recognised album that Freda Payne ever released

Repressed on 140 g GOLD vinyl as part of the Demon Music Group HDH reissue series with an obi strip and a printed inner, featuring a new liner note from Soul Trilogy author Stewart Cosgrove

Newly remastered audio from Phil Kinrade at AIR studios

Reissued for the first time on limited gold vinyl