× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:







Dog Trumpet

Dog Trumpet: Shadowland (1LP)

Dog Trumpet: Shadowland (1LP)

Dog Trumpet

  1. Shadowland
  2. Nina Simone
  3. F***ing Idiots
  4. Sitting Still
  5. Olive Hollow
  6. Sheep Of The Long White Cloud
  7. The Ballad Of Clayton Looby
  8. No More Travelling
  9. Will It Yet Be Thus
  10. Invisible Things
  11. Back Room
  12. Tudor Blues

About this release

Fronted by brothers Peter O’Doherty and Reg Mombassa, Dog Trumpet have been playing, writing and recording their music since the early 90s. Reg and Pete were founding members of iconic Australian band Mental As Anything, who hit the charts around the world with “Live It Up”. The band made a mark with their left field mix of music, art, video and humour and leading eventually to ARIA awards and induction into the Hall of Fame in 2009.
Recorded and produced by Peter at home in his ‘South Road’ studio, the brothers have created an inventive and original body of work distinguished by an eccentric and offbeat harmonic warmth and melodic drive propelled by Reg’s distinctive slide guitar and Peter’s elegant acoustic guitar and mandolin. Their poetic, yet at times absurdist lyrics are set against a sonic backdrop that could loosely be described as a meld of rock and roll, psychedelic folk, country and semi-abstract blues.
“Shadowland” is the duo’s brand new album, recorded earlier this year, with the guys playing all the instruments themselves. Amidst a group of songs with all sorts of subject matter (including the sheep of New Zealand, and Nina Simone) is the very direct “F***ing Idiots”, about the human race and its continuing desire to wage wars. Pressed on 140g black vinyl.
The inner sleeve features all the lyrics and wonderful paintings by both Reg and Peter.