× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records



Release Date:


Cat no:







Dog Trumpet

Dog Trumpet: Medicated Spirits (2LP Black Vinyl)

Dog Trumpet: Medicated Spirits (2LP Black Vinyl)

Dog Trumpet

  1. Elizabethan
  2. Speed of Light
  3. Made in the World
  4. Arriving at the End
  5. Bored Wife
  6. Broke in Many Parts
  7. Telegraph Pole
  8. Raise Your Glasses
  9. Penal Colony
  10. Ray Davies and the Kinks
  1. Moon And Star
  2. Methylated Spirit
  3. Tell Me
  4. What Falls Away
  5. Camel Rock
  6. Shiny Armour
  7. With Good Reason
  8. Mean Time
  9. Aqualine

About this release

Fronted by brothers Peter O’Doherty and Reg Mombassa, Dog Trumpet have been playing, writing and recording their music since the early 90s. Reg and Pete were founding members of iconic Australian band Mental As Anything, who hit the charts around the world with “Live It Up”. The band made a mark with their left field mix of music, art, video and humour and leading eventually to ARIA awards and induction into the Hall of Fame in 2009.

Recorded and produced by Peter at home in his ‘South Road’ studio, the brothers have created an inventive and original body of work distinguished by an eccentric and offbeat harmonic warmth and melodic drive propelled by Reg’s distinctive slide guitar and Peter’s elegant acoustic guitar and mandolin. Their poetic, yet at times absurdist lyrics are set against a sonic backdrop that could loosely be described as a meld of rock and roll, psychedelic folk, country and semi-abstract blues.

Released in 2013, double album “Medicated Spirits” was their sixth album, and features “Speed Of Light”, “Made In the World”, “Bored Wife” and “Ray Davies And The Kinks”.