× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Disco Discharge: Disco Ladies (2LP Pink Vinyl)

Disco Discharge: Disco Ladies (2LP Pink Vinyl)

Various Artists

  1. Groove Me - Fern Kinney
  2. More, More, More - Andrea True Connection
  3. I've Got The Next Dance - Deniece Williams
  4. Get Up And Boogie (That's Right) - Silver Convention
  5. Give Me A Break - The Ritchie Family
  6. You Fooled Around - Sister Sledge
  1. Pick Me Up I'll Dance - Melba Moore
  2. Come On And Do It - Poussez
  3. This Beat Is Mine - Vicky D
  4. Blood And Honey - Amanda Lear
  5. Harmony - Suzi Lane
  6. Bring On The Love (Why Can't We Be Friends Again) - Gloria Jones

About this release

First time on vinyl for this lovingly curated collection of 21 full-length and 12” versions of Disco classics, originally released as part of the ‘Disco Discharge’ CD series in 2009.

Disco was the original equal opportunities genre – it’s true that a Disco classic could come from anywhere, from anybody. Rock bands such as The Rolling Stones, Kiss and Toto piled in on the Disco craze, Broadway stars, Country & Western stars, New Waves acts (Hello, Blondie!), established Jazz and Blues stalwarts, European TV stars, Hollywood actors… they all got on board the Disco train at one point or another.

But the genre’s true continuity came from its divas who, between them, delivered Disco’s brightest stars (Donna Summer, Grace Jones, Gloria Gaynor etc.,) and the largest proportion of its best-loved classics.

‘Disco Discharge. Disco Ladies’ celebrates those women whose voices elevated the genre and continue to soundtrack many a throwback party, queer club dancefloor, family wedding and housewarming shindig to this day. Collected here are some true landmarks of the Disco Ladies’ contribution – from Andrea True Connection’s ‘More, More, More’ to Silver Convention’s ‘Get Up And Boogie (That’s Right)’ in all their full-length glory, as well as buried treasures you NEED in your life from the likes of Amanda Lear, Suzi Lane, Vicky D and Poussez.

‘Disco Discharge, Disco Ladies’ is also released as a 12-track 2LP on 140g Pink vinyl. Both formats come fully annotated with sleeve notes by Alan Jones, co – author of ‘Saturday Night Forever: The Story Of Disco’