× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Disco Discharge: Disco Boogie (2LP Blue Vinyl)

Disco Discharge: Disco Boogie (2LP Blue Vinyl)

Various Artists

  1. Let's Go Round Again (Original 12" Mix) - Average White Band
  2. Inner Feelings (Original Album Version) - Cashmere
  3. Zulu (12" Mix) - The Quick
  4. Inherit The Wind (Original Album Version) - Wilton Felder
  5. Hard Times (Original 12" Mix) - Al McCall
  6. Switch (Original 12" Instrumental Mix) - Benelux And Nancy Dee
  1. Georgy Porgy (Special Disco Mix) - Toto Featuring Cheryl Lynn
  2. Tonight’s The Night (Full Length Version) - Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes featuring Sharon Paige
  3. Night Cruiser (Original 12" Mix) - Deodato
  4. Baby Talk (Special 12" Remix By Shep Pettibone) - Alisha
  5. Call Me (Original 12" Mix) - Skyy
  6. It Must Be Magic (Full Length Album Version) - Teena Marie

About this release

First time on vinyl for this lovingly curated collection of full-length and 12” versions of Disco classics, originally released as part of the ‘Disco Discharge’ CD series in 2010.

Disco was always a broad church. As a genre it brought in elements from Motown and Philly, Pop, Latin, African, Musicals, Classical and even Rock. Even so, arguably the longest-lived iteration of Disco came from the Blues-originated ‘Boogie’ genre. Boogie was a flame that both provided the very basis of the Disco groove and outlasted the genre’s staggering late-’70s mainstream global takeover. With its blend of Soul, Jazz, Funk and R&B and with its name descending from street slang for – ahem – sweaty lovemaking, Boogie lasted well into the 1980s and beyond. It was was Disco in the raw: Boogie was fundamental.

Gathering together 20 exemplars of the sound, ‘Disco Discharge: Disco Boogie’ provides a one-stop shop to Boogie heaven, and it features some of the biggest names of the genre, alongside some heinously forgotten classics.

Among the eclectic array of artists bringing their Boogie to the party are legends like Average White Band, Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, Teena Marie and Wilton Felder, as well as diverse one-offs from A.O.R.’s Toto (featuring Cheryl Lynn), the UK’s experimental new-wavers The Quick and Brazilian multi-instrumentalist and composer, Eumir Deodato.

Disco Discharge, Disco Boogie’ is also released as a 21-track 2CD in Deluxe Gatefold Packaging. Both formats come fully annotated with sleeve notes by Alan Jones, co – author of ‘Saturday Night Forever: The Story Of Disco’