× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Disco Discharge: Classic Disco (2CD)

Disco Discharge: Classic Disco (2CD)

Various Artists

  1. Dr. Buzzard's Original Savannah Band - Cherchez La Femme / Se Si Bon
  2. Double Discovery - Thanks For Loving Me
  3. Cheryl Lynn - Got To Be Real
  4. Rose Royce - Do Your Dance
  5. Idris Muhammed - Could Heaven Ever Be Like This
  6. Al Wilson - Earthquake
  7. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Love Magic
  8. Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin'
  9. Esther Phillips - What A Difference A Day Makes
  10. Johnny Mathis - Gone Dancing Gone
  11. Peter Jacques Band - Counting On Love (One Two Three)
  1. The Glitter Band - Makes You Blind (Re-edit)
  2. The Players Association - Turn The Music Up!
  3. Grey & Hanks - Dancin'
  4. Tamiko Jones - Can’t Live Without Your Love
  5. Change - It Burns Me Up
  6. Glen Adams Affair - Just A Groove
  7. Cleveland Eaton - Bama Boogie Woogie
  8. Companion - Livin' Up To Love
  9. Bumblebee Unlimited - Lady Bug (Disco Mix)
  10. Manhattan Transfer - Twilight Zone / Twilight Tone

About this release

Welcome back to Demon’s ‘Disco Discharge’ series, originally issued in a series of 2CD collections between 2009 and 2012. The themed compilations of full-length, extended Disco originals, lovingly curated by the mysterious “MrPinks” and with detailed sleeve notes by author and Disco aficionado Alan Jones, have remained in-demand among collectors and the club cognoscenti. This time around, the series kicks off with ‘Classic Disco’ and ‘Disco Fever USA’, both issued in new-formatted Deluxe 2CD gatefold packaging.

Doing exactly what it says on the tin, ‘Classic Disco’ mixes 21 undeniable dancefloor landmarks from recognizable names like Rose Royce, Change, Manhattan Transfer and Cheryl Lynn, with deeper cuts from exotic names like Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band (an early incarnation of Kid Creole!), The Peter Jacques Band and Double Discovery. And as if to prove a cool Disco track could come from anywhere or anybody, ‘Classic Disco’ also features an essential re-edit by The Glitter Band!

Each track included is the full-length 12” / Album version, and are unmixed so DJ Friendly.