× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD Box Sets, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:








Sub Genre:


Various Artists

Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the 90s (4CD)

Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the 90s (4CD)

Various Artists

  1. Blur - Young And Lovely
  2. Suede - He’s Dead
  3. Huggy Bear - Her Jazz
  4. Cornershop - England’s Dreaming
  5. The Fall - Lost In Music
  6. New Order - Regret (New Order Mix)
  7. James - Sometimes
  8. Elastica - Pussycat
  9. The Auteurs - Lenny Valentino (Original Mix)
  10. Saint Etienne - Pale Movie (Lemonentry Mix)
  11. Inspiral Carpets featuring Mark E. Smith - ‘I Want You’
  12. Terrorvision - The Model
  13. S*M*A*S*H - Barrabas (Piloted)
  14. Shed Seven - Dolphin (Single Version)
  15. Catatonia - Whale
  16. Echobelly - Today, Tomorrow, Sometime, Never (Live, Wetlands, New York)
  17. Gene - Be My Light, Be My Guide
  18. Manic Street Preachers - The Drowners (Live)
  1. Primal Scream - Jailbird (Dust Brothers Remix)
  2. Paul Weller vs. Portishead - Wild Wood (Sheared Wood Remix)
  3. Radiohead - Planet Telex (Hexidecimal Mix)
  4. The Cardigans - The Boys Are Back In Town
  5. Menswear - I’ll Manage Somehow (Original Single Mix)
  6. Powder - 20th Century Gods
  7. The Lightning Seeds - Lucifer Sam
  8. Pulp - Razzmatazz (Acoustic Version)
  9. Duffy - London Girls
  10. Cast - Fine Time
  11. Heavy Stereo ‘Sleep Freak’
  12. Supergrass - Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In
  13. Feeder - Rush (Live)
  14. Audioweb - Sleeper (Sleepless In Balham Mix)
  15. Northern Uproar - Rollercoaster
  16. The Wannadies - Lee Remick
  17. Kula Shaker - Tattva (Lucky 13 Mix)
  1. Marion - Let’s All Go Together (Slide Mix)
  2. Dodgy - Grateful Moon
  3. Ride - Black Nite Crash
  4. Fluffy - Husband
  5. Lush - Ciao!
  6. Electrafixion - Sister Pain (Acoustic)
  7. Out Of My Hair - Safe Boy
  8. Spacehog - In The Meantime
  9. Space - Neighbourhood
  10. Whipping Boy - Fiction (Live – The Furnace In Dublin)
  11. Plastic Fantastic - Complimentary Electron
  12. Longpigs - On And On
  13. Dubstar - Elevator Song
  14. Jocasta - The Land Of Do As You Please
  15. Sleeper - Atomic
  16. Ash - Does Your Mother Know
  17. Ocean Colour Scene - Travellers Tune (Original Version)
  18. The Supernaturals - Smile
  1. Super Furry Animals - Something For The Weekend (Rockfield Version)
  2. Silver Sun - There Will Never Be Another Me
  3. The Boo Radleys - What’s In The Box (See Whatcha Got)
  4. The Bluetones - Marblehead Johnson
  5. The Charlatans - The Two Of Us
  6. Me Me Me - Hanging Around
  7. Shampoo - Cars
  8. Babybird - You’re Gorgeous Too
  9. Salad - I Want You
  10. Bis - Wee Love
  11. Kenickie - In Your Car
  12. Speedy - Boy Wonder
  13. Reef - Yer Old (Young Version)
  14. Electronic - All That I Need
  15. 60Ft Dolls - Pretty Horses
  16. These Animal Men - Wichita Lineman
  17. The Aloof - One Night Stand (7” Version)
  18. Oasis - Champagne Supernova (Brendan Lynch Mix)

About this release

  • 4CD set presented in a media book
  • Compiled by Kevin Cummins, one of the world’s leading music photographers, famed for his iconic portraits of David Bowie, Patti Smith, Joy Division, The Smiths, New Order and Oasis
  • 71 classic tracks, lost gems, live and alternative versions, b-sides and single edits from the Britpop era
  • Includes all of the key acts including Oasis, Blur, Pulp, Suede, Elastica, Radiohead, Lush, Supergrass, Menswear and Gene
  • Also features The Auteurs, The Charlatans, Echobelly, Ash and Sleeper.
  • Complete with original photos from Kevin’s collection
  • Includes In-depth sleeve notes exploring the bands, their influences, the labels and the individuals who defined the era
  • Featuring contributions from producer Stephen Street, DJ Steve Lamacq, Johnny Dean (Menswear), Math Priest (Dodgy), Kevin Miles and Matt James (Gene) and Jaime Harding (Marion)

For more than a decade Kevin Cummins was chief photographer at the NME, – the world’s biggest selling rock weekly – where his award-winning pictures were a major contributing factor in the rise of the Post-Punk and Madchester. It also meant he was and in a prime location to witness and participate in the musical and cultural phenomenon in the first half of the ‘90s, that was variously tagged Britpop or Cool Britannia.

In 2020 Cassell Illustrated published his book ‘While We Were Getting High: Britpop and the ‘90s’, a collection of Kevin’s breath-taking photographs that captured an extraordinary moment in Pop music history. Rough Trade Shops included it in their Book of the Year list, while GQ magazine effused, “To flip through the book is to be immersed back in the glory days of Cool Britannia… and it’s just as cool as you remember.”

Now Kevin has compiled ‘Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the ‘90s’, a companion collection to his book on 71 track 4CD set. It brings together artists that topped the chart and set the agenda, some who were lauded one week and laughed at the next, and others who were just along for the ride. From an era of Lad’s mags and Girl Power, “football’s coming home” and chart battles making news headlines, it brings together Oasis and Blur, Pulp and Supergrass, Sleeper and Suede, Elastica and Echobelly, Gene and Menswear, and many more.

Kevin Cummins: “It was always my ambition to have a companion album to the book, a chance to enjoy the music of that era, music as timeless as the images. When I was selecting photos for my book, I took to Twitter to ask fans if certain bands could be considered part of the genre. Several musicians joined in to deny they were ever part of Britpop. The Manics were never considered part of the genre, nor Primal Scream, and much as I would have like to include them I chose not to. So it pleases me that we can feature both bands and many more in this collection, with its broader take on Indie music in ‘90s Britain.”