× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations

Release Date:


Cat no:





R&B and Soul

Various Artists

Brunswick Funk (1LP)

Brunswick Funk (1LP)

Various Artists

  1. Jackie Wilson – Shake A Leg
  2. The Total Eclipse – St. Albans Strut
  3. The Eliminators – Give It Up
  4. Willie Henderson – Break Your Back
  5. Sugar Pie DeSanto – Do The Whoopee
  6. Gene Chandler – There Was A Time
  7. Step By Step – Cash Money
  8. Exit 9 – Miss Funky Fox
  9. The Lost Generation – This Is The Lost Generation (Instrumental)
  10. The Young-Holt Unlimited – Just Ain’t No Love
  11. Floyd Smith – Soul Strut
  12. Erma Franklin – Light My Fire

About this release

The legendary record label Brunswick Records is home to a plethora of amazing recordings from classic soul to rhythm & blues. In this collection we trawl through the vaults to present you with twelve of the finest funk inspired tracks which are sure to get you perspiring on the dance-floor.

Classics come in the way of Gene Chandler’s scintillating cover of James Brown’s There Was A Time, Erma Franklin’s Light My Fire from her timeless album Soul Sister and Exit 9 with Miss Funky Fox – a remarkable addition to the Brunswick catalogue given these musicians were only between the ages 16-20.

Dig a little deeper and we have supreme album cuts from Jackie Wilson, The Eliminators, The Young-Holt Unlimited, The Lost Generation, Total Eclipse and Willie Henderson. All of which will get your reaching for your original album copy.

Pressed on 140g black vinyl with a printed inner sleeve and artwork reflecting the original Brunswick releases. This is an essential addition to anyone’s record collection.