× Home News About Mailing List Licensing



CD Box Sets, Compilations, Exclusives

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo (4CD) SIGNED EDITION

Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo (4CD) SIGNED EDITION

Various Artists

  1. Tina Turner - The Best (Extended Mighty Mix)
  2. John Waite - Missing You (Extended Mix)
  3. Billy Idol - Eyes Without A Face (Full-Length Version)
  4. Rick Springfield – Human Touch (Extended Mix)
  5. Huey Lewis And The News – I Want A New Drug (Extended Version)
  6. Greg Kihn Band – Jeopardy (Dance Mix)
  7. Daryl Hall & John Oates - Downtown Life (Downtown Remix)
  8. ZZ Top – Viva Las Vegas (Remix)
  9. The Escape Club - Wild, Wild West (Dance Mix)
  10. Fine Young Cannibals – Suspicious Minds (Suspicious Mix)
  11. Cher - Skin Deep (Extended Dance Mix)
  1. Visage - Fade To Grey (U.S 12” Mix)
  2. ABC - The Look Of Love (Part 3: Dance Mix)
  3. Cabaret Voltaire – Crackdown (12” Version)
  4. Blancmange – Blind Vision (Extended Version)
  5. Wang Chung - Don't Let Go (Extended Remix)
  6. Dragon - Rain (US Dance Mix)
  7. Peter Schilling – Major Tom (Coming Home) (Special Extended Version)
  8. Camouflage - The Great Commandment (US 12" Mix
  9. Soft Cell – Insecure… Me? (U.S. Version)
  10. Bill Nelson – Acceleration (Long Version)
  11. Shakin' Stevens – Cry Just A Little Bit (Luongo’s Mix)
  1. Bananarama – Shy Boy (Don't It Make You Feel Good) (U.S Extended Version)
  2. K.C. & The Sunshine Band - Give It Up (12” Version)
  3. Falco - Junge Roemer (Young Romans) (Specially Remixed 12” Version)
  4. Baltimora – Tarzan Boy (Extended Dance Version)
  5. Material – I'm The One (Dance Version Remix)
  6. Gladys Knight And The Pips – Save The Overtime (For Me) (12” Mix)
  7. Level 42 – The Chinese Way (New York Remix)
  8. I Level - Give Me (U.S Remix)
  9. Serge Ponsar – Out In The Night (12” Version)
  10. Fantasy - You're Too Late (12” Extended Mix)
  11. The Quick – Zulu (12” Mix)
  1. Ms. Sharon Ridley – Changin’ (Full-Length Version)
  2. Melba Moore – You Stepped Into My Life (John Luongo Remix)
  3. Patti Labelle – Music Is My Way Of Life John Luongo Remix)
  4. Jackie Moore – This Time Baby (Special 12” Version)
  5. Jackie Moore – This Time Baby (Special 12” Version)
  6. Dan Hartman Featuring Loleatta Holloway – Vertigo/Relight My Fire (Progressive Instrumental Remix)
  7. North End – Kind Of Life (Kind Of Love) (12" Vocal)
  8. Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr. – Shine On Silver Moon (12” Mix)
  9. Marlena Shaw - Love Dancin' (12" Mix)
  10. Gonzalez – Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet (12” Disco Version)

About this release

Limited edition includes a signed print

Following on from the highly successful first two editions of Dance Masters featuring the classics mixes from maestros Shep Pettibone and Arthur Baker, the spotlight turns to another remix legend, John Luongo.

Boston born, John is one of the truly legendary DJ’s and remixers of the Disco era. John got his break at Epic by overdubbing percussion from salt shakers and spoons onto a promo and then passing them back the tape. This resulted in him being flown to New York, and put in a studio (of his choice) to mix and produce Melba Moore`s “You Stepped Into My Life”. From this point everything he touched was a hit. He went onto remix Disco classics by Jackie Moore “This Time Baby”, Dan Hartman “Vertigo / Relight My Fire” and Patti Labelle Music Is My Way Of Life”.

John however was not afraid of remixing artists that didn’t fit into the disco genre and this attitude is borne out by the tracklisting of this compilation, on which Gladys Knight and The Pips rub shoulders with ZZ Top and Billy Idol, and Baltimora appears alongside Bill Nelson and I-Level.

“…if you played this whole thing, just put it on and didn’t tell anyone it was me, they’d say ‘boy, what a great group of songs this is!’” John Luongo

The 4CD ‘media book’ edition comes with a 32 page booklet featuring foreword by Arthur Baker, an in-depth essay written by Alexis Petridis (Rock and Pop reviewer for The Guardian) and complete with rare photos from John’s personal Collection plus limited edition signed insert.

All tracks remastered by Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering.

  • A 36-track 6LP vinyl edition along with a 2LP vinyl edition featuring 16 highlights.

Extra information about this release