× Home News About Mailing List Licensing

Demon Records


Vinyl, Compilations, Exclusives

Release Date:


Cat no:






Various Artists

Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo (2LP)

Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo (2LP)

Various Artists

  1. Tina Turner - The Best (Extended Mighty Mix)
  2. John Waite - Missing You (Extended Version)
  3. Billy Idol - Eyes Without A Face (Full-length Version)
  4. Rick Springfield - Human Touch (Extended Mix)
  5. ABC - The Look Of Love (Part 3 - Dance Version)
  6. Visage - Fade To Grey (U.S. 12” Version)
  7. Blancmange - Blind Vision (Extended Version)
  8. Fine Young Cannibals - Suspicious Minds (Suspicious Mix)
  1. Bananarama - Shy Boy (Don’t It Make You Feel Good) (U.S. Extended Version)
  2. Baltimora - Tarzan Boy (Extended Dance Version)
  3. Level 42 - The Chinese Way (New York Remix)
  4. Level 42 - The Chinese Way (New York Remix)
  5. KC & The Sunshine Band - Give It Up (12” Version)
  6. Dan Hartman Featuring Loleatta Holloway - Relight My Fire (The Historical 1979 Remix)
  7. Melba Moore - You Stepped Into My Life (John Luongo Remix)
  8. Patti Labelle - Music Is My Way Of Life (John Luongo Remix)

About this release

Following on from the highly successful first two editions of Dance Masters featuring the classics mixes from maestros Shep Pettibone and Arthur Baker, the spotlight turns to another remix legend, John Luongo.

Boston born, John is one of the truly legendary DJ’s and remixers of the Disco era. John got his break at Epic by overdubbing percussion from salt shakers and spoons onto a promo and then passing them back the tape. This resulted in him being flown to New York, and put in a studio (of his choice) to mix and produce Melba Moore`s “You Stepped Into My Life”. From this point everything he touched was a hit. He went onto remix Disco classics by Jackie Moore “This Time Baby”, Dan Hartman “Vertigo / Relight My Fire” and Patti Labelle Music Is My Way Of Life”.

However, John was not afraid of remixing artists that didn’t fit into the disco genre and this attitude is borne out by the tracklisting of this compilation, on which Gladys Knight and The Pips rub shoulders with Fine Young Cannibals and Billy Idol, and Baltimora appears alongside Banararama and Serge Ponsar.

“…if you played this whole thing, just put it on and didn’t tell anyone it was me, they’d say ‘boy, what a great group of songs this is!’” John Luongo

This cut down 16 track essential edition in pressed on 140g black vinyl and features foreword by Arthur Baker and an in-depth essay written by Alexis Petridis (Rock and Pop reviewer for The Guardian).

All tracks remastered by Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering.

A 43-track 4CD edition is also available, along with a 6LP vinyl edition featuring 33 tracks.

Extra information about this release