× Home News About Mailing List Licensing




Release Date:


Cat no:






Altered Images

Altered Images: Happy Birthday (2CD) Deluxe Gatefold Packaging

Altered Images: Happy Birthday (2CD) Deluxe Gatefold Packaging

Altered Images

  1. Intro: Happy Birthday
  2. Love And Kisses
  3. Real Toys
  4. Idols
  5. Legionnaire
  6. Faithless
  7. Beckoning Strings
  8. Happy Birthday
  9. Midnight
  10. A Day’s Wait
  11. Leave Me Alone
  12. Insects
  13. Outro: Happy Birthday
  1. Dead Pop Stars
  2. Sentimental
  3. Leave Me Alone [early version]
  4. A Day’s Wait [7" edit]
  5. Who Cares
  6. Happy Birthday [Dance Mix]
  7. So We Go Whispering
  8. Jeepster
  9. Real Toys [new version]
  10. Happy New Year

About this release

Released in September 1981, Altered Images’ debut album featured the band’s biggest single, “Happy Birthday”, which peaked at number 2, produced by Martin Rushent (Human League, Stranglers, Buzzcocks). The remainder of the album was produced by Steven Severin, co-founder of Siouxsie and The Banshees, and went on to earn a Silver Disc, selling in excess of 60,000 copies.

In this very special 2CD set, CD1 features the original album, while bonus CD2 contains the non-album A-side “Dead Pop Stars”, five non-album B-sides (including a cover of T. Rex’s “Jeepster”), an extended 12” version, a single edit, and two tracks from a FlexiPop magazine flexi-disc.

The two CDs are presented in brand new seven-inch deluxe gatefold packaging, with an 8-page booklet which includes all the lyrics (including the six non-album tracks) and the credits.